Dear Rick

Dear Rick:

Greetings from Honolulu, Hawaii! I am sorry it has been so long since I have written to you and my readers. As you predicted some weeks ago, it can be difficult to find the time to write when life is moves as fast as it does for us.

It was great seeing you and the family – thank you for the words of encouragement. Times like that remind me why it’s good to be back in the place where I grew up. It seems like just yesterday we were hovering over Aunt Martha’s table, excited to partake in a holiday feast. The times have change – it really does go by so fast – but those feelings of youthful bliss and comfort that only family can provide, remain.

IMG_1881 I write to you from Bogart’s Café, blocks away from Waikiki beach and downtown Honolulu. I arrived last Tuesday after spending the weekend in Seattle with a law school friend, Seth and his girlfriend Apple. They were kind enough to give us a guest room and show us how they live on the other coast. Seattle is such a fun town, reminiscent of New York. The architecture and scenery is some of the most unique I have encountered. I even experienced the typical Seattle day, complete with grey skies and slow, steady rain.

IMG_1543

IMG_1893

Hawaii is quite the destination. I have always heard of people speak about Hawaii as this mythical place that you have to go to at least once. I finally understand what they have been talking about this entire time. I agree and add that it is also a place I would like to return. The scenery is breathtaking and awe-inspiring, with grand views of the Pacific Ocean waiting around every corner. I will never forget the first time I stuck my foot in the water and realized I was now on the other side of the world. Most importantly, I was blessed to witness true love in its most pure form when I watched my best friend Julio and his wife Eirlan pledge themselves to each other for eternity as the waves steadily crashed into the shore below.

IMG_1973

As a young lawyer, I can tell you this vacation has been extremely rewarding. Its moments like these that make all of the sacrifice and hard work well worth it. It is therapeutic to be able to disconnect from one part of life, and connect with another. At the same time, I must admit I am ready to go home soon and get back to the practice of law.

Well I guess I have rambled on for long enough. I can hear the waves calling me back. I hope Florida is treating you well. I look forward to seeing you and the family again soon.

Sincerely Yours,

Domenick

One thought on “Dear Rick

Leave a Reply

