One Year

Dear Family and Friends:

This week marked my one-year anniversary as a lawyer. One year ago today I stood in front of my mentor and took the Oath of Attorney – a culmination of events ten years in the making. Three moves and twelve months later, I find myself in a new home, in a new city, with my best friend and partner, in love, in a new job and ready for what the future has in store.

photo

I want to start by saying thank you. Thank you to each and every one of you that believed in me, supported me, encouraged me, loved me, and stood by me through thick and thin. If there is anyone that knows the amount of sacrifice and the risks that had to be taken to get here, it is you. And that of course includes your own costs; the detriments you incurred for me along the way to help me to reach this point. The times you called when I sure needed someone to talk to. The times you took me out for drinks on a Friday when I could barely rub two nickels together. The times you welcomed me with a smile and a laugh. The times you offered me a place to stay. I have said it before and I will say it again; I could never have reached this point without you. From the bottom of my heart, thank you.

IMG_3501

IMG_3534

You will be happy to know that I finally feel as though I made it. That I found a place where I am accomplishing goals I set out to accomplish ten years ago; use my education to help make the world a better place, and in the process, make a living for myself. I do love my new job and the work it requires. In fact, I find myself in the office, on a Saturday, with a smile on my face because the work I do has purpose and meaning that does not go unrecognized. I love being a lawyer. I love waking up every day and putting on a tie, driving to the office, and doing what I was born to do.

I’m not going to lie though guys – I am tired. I find myself working more than I have ever worked before, or even imagined I would be working. I miss reading for leisure. I miss spending time with you. I miss writing! This is my first blog entry in almost a month (sorry readers!). But I know that just as before, you understand and you support me because what I am most thankful for that I didn’t mention prior is this. I am grateful to you for believing in me. There has been no greater sense of accomplishment than knowing you all believed in me and I did not let you down – I did not disappoint you.

2014-04-12 19.50.10

These words, this one-year mark, it wouldn’t be complete without saving the best for last. Thank you God. Thank you God for being by my side every step of the way. I am sorry for the times when I doubted you – times when this journey seemed too difficult to take another step. But like my family and friends, you NEVER gave up on me. You ALWAYS believed in me. You were ALWAYS there. The times when you seemed furthest away were the very times you were closest, giving me that silent push, loving me without end. As a young lawyer, I will never speak a greater truth than this: without you, I would be nothing.

So much has happened in just one year as a lawyer, it’s almost intimidating to imagine and think about. This is only the beginning. I have a lifetime ahead of me and a career that will hopefully fill thousands of pages to come. I don’t know about you, but I am excited.

 

With all the love in my heart,

 

Domenick

2 thoughts on “One Year

  1. Pingback: Five Lessons from Two Years Out | Portrait of the Lawyer as a Young Man

Leave a Reply

