Confessions of a Young Lawyer

When I first contemplated the idea of writing this story, I had doubt. That doubt stemmed from a deep-rooted fear of revealing my innermost feelings to the world at large. Of making what is my private life, public – at least – once a week. Today I was reminded of that doubt as I faced the decision to move forward with what I am about to expose. And yes, I still have doubt.

Ultimately, I decided that the risk of revealing my personal life would be outweighed by the reward; the reward of sharing with the world what it is like to be a young lawyer. I made the decision from day one to always be honest with you, the reader, and never, ever hold anything back. In doing so, yes I may sacrifice my privacy and risk revealing secrets I may not have otherwise revealed. But the realization was that it would be worth it all in order to share this with you and tell a story that would have only existed in the quiet narrative of my thoughts.

This weekend I made the seemingly impossible decision to leave Miami in search of a new beginning where the story of me was born; Tampa. As of September 16, 2013, I, Domenick Lazzara, a young lawyer, will be going home.

IMG_0478

After ten long years of living, studying, working, and falling in love with Miami, I woke up to realize that this relationship could not continue. Its not you, it’s me. I left my home ten years ago to start a life in Miami. I left my house, my family, and my friends in search of the start of something incredible. I am happy to report on the status of this mission as follows.

Accomplished. I came to Miami and discovered what I was born to do – be a lawyer. I love the law and the practice of law is a noble profession of which I am proud to be a part of. But now that I have found that satisfaction, I feel a yearning to return to my roots – to go home. At the risk of sounding like a sentimental fool, I feel as though I am a warrior who has been studying in the mountains. My mentor has been my guru, and Miami my monastery. Now, I am ready to return to the world.

As you can imagine, this news was received with utter shock by my Mentor earlier last week. True to his word, he stood up, gave me a hug and told me he loved me and would support me no matter what I did or where I went. The fact that my guru supports my decision does not make it any easier, but it does confirm that feeling deep down inside me that this is the right decision; I must go in search of new beginnings, once again. His support helps ease my doubt.

I seek out my happiness in another land. Another land far from my friends and the lessons I have spent ten years learning. I must return home, to be with my family and my roots, this time not as a fledgling boy, but a warrior.

IMG_0123
When I started this, my portrait, it was the story of a young lawyer, fresh out of law school, newly minted bar license, employed and ready to save the world one client at a time. Now this story takes on a new form – that of the young lawyer on the road, in search of new beginnings in the place where it all began. I am excited to go on this journey with you. With patience, together we will reach that fabled Promised Land.

I am learning that sometimes in life, to follow your dream, you have to find a way to let go when you think you should keep holding on. Life is a battleground where the armies of our mind rage on against those of our heart. My doubts speak to me and they tell me to hold on. In reply, my heart screams back that its time to let go. Passion has been and must always remain to be my ever-present compass. In this battleground, the heart will always prevail.

-DGL 2013

4 thoughts on “Confessions of a Young Lawyer

  1. Domenick, I know that this decision was hard to make,leaving what you grew to love and learned much from that passage of life that the Lord presented to you and knowing through much prayer that He is leading to still another passage of life,, you are an awsome young man and pray all will go well with transition

    loving you always,
    ant martha

  2. Dom….a shock? A surprise? A delight to know you will be home with family? Yes, all the above. My daily prayers for you will be turned to deeper specifics. You are loved and we are here for you.

Leave a Reply

